Paterson Teen Charged with Attempted Murder in Shooting Incident
Passaic County Prosecutor Camelia M. Valdes and Paterson Police Chief Troy Oswald announce that based upon an investigation by the Paterson Police Department, in conjunction with the Passaic County Prosecutor’s Office, Yusef M. Page, 18, of Paterson, was arrested on Saturday in relation to a shooting investigation that took place that same day in the area of Broadway.
Police say Mr. Page is charged with Attempted Murder, First Degree; Unlawful Possession of a Handgun, Second Degree (2 Counts); Possession of a Handgun for an Unlawful Purpose, Second Degree (2 Counts); Possession of Defaced Firearm, Fourth Degree; Aggravated Assault, Third, Degree; and Resisting Arrest, Third Degree.
According to police, members of the Paterson Police Department responded to the area of Broadway on a report of a shooting.
Upon arrival, the police located evidence of a crime scene, but no victim was located. A short time later members of the Paterson Police Department were advised that a 24-year-old male Hillside resident arrived at Saint Joseph’s Regional Medical Center in Paterson seeking treatment for a non-fatal gunshot wound.
Based on the investigation Mr. Page was identified as the shooter.
Police say they located Mr. Page in the area of Hamilton Avenue Pat which point he attempted to pull a firearm from his waistband.
After a struggle, Mr. Page was detained and arrested.
The sentencing exposure for Mr. Page on First Degree Attempted Murder is 10-20 years New Jersey State Prison with 85% of the term to be served before parole pursuant to the No Early Release Act and 5 years parole supervision; on each count of Second Degree Unlawful Possession of a Handgun it is 5-10 years New Jersey State Prison with a minimum of 42 months before parole eligibility pursuant to the Graves Act; on each count of Second Degree Possession of a Handgun for an Unlawful Purpose it is 5-10 years New Jersey State Prison with 42 months of parole ineligibility pursuant to the Graves Act, on Third Degree Aggravated Assault it is 3-5 years New Jersey State Prison, on Third Degree Resisting Arrest it is 3-5 years New Jersey State.
Prison; and on Fourth Degree Possession of a Defaced Firearm it is up to18 months New Jersey State Prison.
The State intends to file a motion for pretrial detention in this matter that will be heard by a Superior Court Judge.
A criminal complaint is merely an accusation. Despite this accusation, defendants are presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.