Paterson Man Charged with Shooting at Hillside, Paterson Residents
Passaic County Prosecutor Camelia M. Valdes and Paterson Police Chief Troy Oswald announce that based upon an investigation by the Paterson Police Department, in conjunction with the Passaic County Prosecutor’s Office, Mr. Tayquan L. Wright, 23 years old, from Paterson, was arrested Thursday in relation to a shooting investigation that took place in the area of North 3rd Street and Cliff Street Paterson.
Police say Mr. Wright is charged with Attempted Murder (2 counts), First Degree; Unlawful Possession of a Handgun, Second Degree; Possession of a Handgun for an Unlawful Purpose (2 counts), Second Degree; Possession of CDS, Third Degree; Possession CDS with the Intent to Distribute Third Degree; Possession CDS with the intent to distribute while within a 1000 feet of a school, Third Degree.
According to police, members of the Paterson Police Department responded to the area North 3rd Street and Cliff Street on a report of a shooting Thursday.
Upon arrival the police located a potential crime scene and located a 21-year-old female Paterson resident and an 18-year-old male Hillside resident who advised police that an individual had fired a handgun at them.
Police day neither victim was struck by the bullets.
Based on the investigation Tayquan L. Wright was arrested. During the arrest of Mr. Wright he was additionally charged with various CDS offenses.
The sentencing exposure for Mr. Wright on each count of First Degree Attempted Murder is 10- 20 years New Jersey State Prison with 85% of those terms to be served before parole pursuant to the No Early Release Act and 5 years parole supervision; on Second Degree, Unlawful Possession of a Handgun it is 5-10 years New Jersey State Prison with a minimum of 42 months before parole eligibility pursuant to the Graves Act; on each count of Second Degree Possession of a Weapon for an Unlawful Purpose it is 5-10 years New Jersey State Prison with 42 months of parole ineligibility pursuant to the Graves Act; on Third Degree Possession CDS it is 3-5 years New Jersey State Prison; on Third Degree Possession CDS with the intent to distribute it is 3-5 years New Jersey State Prison and on Third Degree Possession CDS with the intent to distribute while within 1000 feet of a school is 3-5 years New Jersey State Prison.
The State intends to file a motion for pretrial detention in this matter that will be heard by a Superior Court Judge.
A criminal complaint is merely an accusation. Despite this accusation, defendants are presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.
The Passaic County Prosecutor’s Office asks anyone with additional information about this incident to contact us on our tips line at 1-877-370-PCPO or firstname.lastname@example.org or contact the Paterson Police Department at 973-321-1120.