Skip to main content

Newark Mayor, Public Safety Director Swear-in New Captains, Police Officers

By rlsmetro on

Newark Mayor Ras J. Baraka and Public Safety Director Brian A. O’Hara swore-in two new Police Captains and four new Police Officers at a ceremony held at the Newark Municipal Council Chambers in City Hall yesterday.

The new Police Captains are Miguel Aviles and Emanuel Miranda. The new Police Officers are Antonio Bellomo, Michael Chirico, Peter Denis and Nicholas DePaul.

“These new Police Captains enhance the advancement of leadership we are bringing to the Newark Police Division under the guidance of our new Acting Public Safety Director O’Hara,” Mayor Baraka said.

“These new commanders are equipped with a keen vision to continue reducing crime and strengthening police-community relations. And by sharing this event with the newly sworn-in police officers, they serve as a great inspiration to those joining the ranks.”

“I am pleased to welcome two new Police Captains and four new Police Officers to the Newark Police Division today,” Director O’Hara said.

“These commanders reflect the highest caliber of integrity and professionalism in public safety.  

They each possess the passion, vision and leadership expertise to guide the rank and file, including the four new officers, in making the Newark Police Division a shining example of what’s possible when the police and the community work well together.”