Skip to main content

2024 Alex DeCroce Public Leadership Award Bestowed at Morris County Legislative Luncheon

Morris County

By: Richard L. Smith 

At the Morris County Chamber of Commerce’s annual Legislative Luncheon held at the Park Avenue Club in Florham Park, former Morris County Commissioner Kathryn DeFillippo was celebrated with the 2024 Alex DeCroce Public Leadership Award.Real EstateThe prestigious accolade was presented in recognition of her distinguished contributions to public service and the community.

Morris County Commissioner Director Christine Myers, alongside fellow Commissioners Doug Cabana, Tayfun Selen, and Deborah Smith, and Chamber President Meghan Hunscher, praised DeFillippo for her dedicated advocacy for human services and her support for non-profit organizations within the county.

DeFillippo’s leadership was particularly noted during her tenure on the New Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) board, which she directed through the challenges of the global pandemic.

DeFillippo’s public service career is marked by her three terms as a County Commissioner from 2014 to 2022, where she served as a vital liaison to the Morris County Department of Human Services and significantly contributed to local non-profits.

Her commitment to community service extended to her role with the National MS Society's New Jersey Metro Chapter and her initiative to bring the Walk for MS to Roxbury.

Morris In her acceptance speech, DeFillippo reflected on the advice she received from the late Assemblyman Alex DeCroce, emphasizing the importance of understanding the community and using one's voice to enact change.

She credited her success to this guidance, expressing gratitude for the recognition of her efforts to improve the quality of life in Morris County.

Under DeFillippo’s leadership as NJTPA chair, significant advancements were made, including the adoption of Plan 2050, which outlines transportation priorities for the next three decades and facilitated substantial federal investment in New Jersey's infrastructure.

One of the notable achievements during her term was the completion of the Morris Canal restoration, a project revitalized with NJTPA's support.

The Legislative Luncheon also featured a keynote speech by Micah Rasmussen, director of the Rebovich Institute for New Jersey Politics, who discussed the impact of the upcoming elections on New Jersey.

A panel discussion with state Senators Anthony Bucco and Andrew Zwicker, moderated by Sal Anderton, followed, delving into legislative issues relevant to the state’s residents and businesses.

The Alex DeCroce Public Leadership Award is given annually to a Morris County official who embodies the late assemblyman's dedication to public service and community well-being.

The Legislative Luncheon is a key event in the chamber’s Public Policy Series, aimed at fostering dialogue on important policy matters affecting Morris County.

Real Estate